Watermelon Cupcakes

When you think of 4th of July you think of red, white, and blue but what other fruit is common at a BBQ?  The watermelon!  This post will teach you how to make your very own watermelon cupcakes!  Not only do they look like watermelon but they have watermelon flavoring!

You could use a box cake mix but I prefer to make cupcakes from scratch.  I used a yellow cake mix recipe from the Betty Crooker Cook book.  I also made my frosting from scratch and I will include that recipe as well.  Let’s get started!  I copied the recipe for the cake as it looked in the book with the prep and bake times and all of the ingredients.  I will take you through step by step how I put it all together.

 

Yellow Cake

Prep: 50 minutes Bake: 20 minutes

Cool: 60 minutes Oven: 375 degrees

Makes 12 to 16 servings 

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups milk

You will also need:

  • Watermelon jello packet
  • Chocolate chips.  (mini chips or regular sized)
  • Pink food coloring
  • Green food coloring

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting:

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 or pinch of salt

 

01

Pre-measuring your ingredients ensures you will not forget an ingredient.

1. Let your eggs and butter get to room temperature.

02

2. Combine all of your dry ingredients into the bowl with your pre-measured flour, including baking powder, and salt.

03

3. Take your room temperature butter and place it in a separate mixing bowl and beat in your stand mixer until smooth.  This ensure your butter will not be clumpy and will mix thoroughly with the other ingredients.

05

Whip that butter into shape!

4. Now add one egg at a time.  I learned from a cooking show, that you should always crack your egg into a separate bowl, so no egg shells accidentally get into your mixture.

06

When adding wet ingredients, I place my shield on my mixer. This is so I can mix while I add the items and nothing will splash out.

5.  Add your sugar.

07

6. Add your vanilla.

08

7.  Now take a measuring cup and alternate a scoop of the dry mixture with a little milk.  Continue to alternate until fully combined.

09 10

8.  Add some pink food coloring to make it look like a watermelon!

I used Electric Pink by Duff. (from Ace of Cakes)

I used Electric Pink by Duff. (from Ace of Cakes)

9.  Now this is optional but if you want it to taste like watermelon add “to taste” a watermelon jello packet.  I only added half of the packet.  I didn’t want the watermelon taste to be too sweet and overpowering.  Once the cupcakes baked it was only a slight taste of watermelon.  I would recommend using a little more if not all of the packet.

13

Always take the bowl off the mixer and scrap around the edges, scrap the bottom, and scrap the blade to make sure all ingredients are completely mixed. My scraper blade is my favorite when baking but it is still difficult for the mixer to get all of the ingredients at the bottom.

 

10.  You can add the chocolate chips while you still have the mixture in the stand mixer or by hand.  If you want only a few chips inside then add them once you scoop the mixture into the cupcake tins.  I added by hand after I filled my cupcake tins.

14

I use an ice cream scooper to get an even amount of batter in each cupcake.

15

 

11.  Now they are ready to go into the oven.  375 degrees.  I always set my timer for less time than the recipe and check on them to make sure they are not getting burnt.  This recipe was pretty accurate for the 20 minute bake time.  However, every oven is different so I suggest placing a toothpick or cake poker in each cake to make sure they are cooked thoroughly through.

 

16

17

Out of the oven, let the pan cool and take them out of the pan as soon as you are able to touch the cupcakes so they don’t continue cooking.

 Make sure they have cooled completely then make your buttercream.

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting:

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/8 or pinch of salt

1. Again start with room temperature butter and place that in your mixer first and make sure it is whipped completely.

2. Add powdered sugar slowly and make sure it mixes into the butter before you add more.

3.  I add my salt and vanilla in between adding the powdered sugar.

4. Once I scrap the bottom of the bowl and see that it is completely mixed I add my green food coloring.

I like to pipe my frosting so I use a large star tip and a piping bag.  I start at the edge of my cupcake and work my way around to the middle.  I was unable to upload my video into the blog but I will post it onto our Facebook page for you to view. (You can find our Facebook near the top right side of our blog.)

19

20

21

The chocolate chips look like seeds!

22

Watermelon Cupcake

 Did you enjoy this post?  Share it with your friends!

Would you like to see more baking “how to” posts from us?

Please let us know in the comments!  If you try this recipe please share pictures and how they turned out with us!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Watermelon Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

